Skip to Navigation
   
2017-2018 Graduate Catalog
East Carolina University
   
 
  Dec 15, 2017
 
 
    
2017-2018 Graduate Catalog

Art, MFA


Program Coordinator: Scott Eagle (2000 Jenkins Fine Arts Center; 252-328-6665; eagles@ecu.edu)

Contact Information for Studio Areas:

  • Ceramics: Seo Eo (101 Jenkins Fine Arts Center; 252-328-6281; eos@ecu.edu)
  • Illustration:Joan Mansfield (215-A Jenkins Fine Arts Center, 252-328-6263; mansfieldj@ecu.edu)
  • Metal Design: Tim Lazure (1317 Jenkins Fine Arts Center; 252-328-1317; lazuret@ecu.edu)
  • Painting: Beth Blake (215-F Jenkins Fine Arts Center; 252-328-1306; blakeb@ecu.edu)
  • Photography: Daniel Kariko (2000 Jenkins Fine Arts Center; 252-328-4063; karikod@ecu.edu)
  • Printmaking: Matt Egan (1123 Jenkins Fine Arts Center; 252-737-2739; eganm@ecu.edu)
  • Sculpture: Hanna Jubran (127 Jenkins Fine Arts Center; 252-328-1303; jubranh@ecu.edu
  • Textile Design: Robin Haller (206 Jenkins File Arts Center; 252-328-6267; hallerr@ecu.edu)
  • Graphic Design: Gunnar Swanson (1339 Jenkins Fine Arts Center; 252-328-2839; swansong@ecu.edu)

The master of fine arts degree is the terminal professional degree in studio art. This is a three-year or equivalent degree (60 s.h.). Assessments of progress are provided on a regular and periodic basis. Students must possess an undergraduate degree in art from an accredited institution. The Art and Design Graduate Committee will consider an applicant that does not possess an undergraduate degree in art, if that applicant is nominated by an East Carolina University area coordinator, has an exceptional portfolio of work and has completed an undergraduate degree from an accredited institution. The MFA degree does not require standardized test scores to apply. Students interested in applying for the MFA degree must present a digital portfolio of slides of their work prior to acceptance in the studio area in which they wish to major. Concentrations are offered in all areas represented by course work except animation/interactive design, art history, and video art.

Art: Studio concentration for which candidate is qualified - 24 s.h.


Studio art electives - 12 s.h.


(outside concentration area)

Art history - 12 s.h.


3 s.h.


General electives - 3 s.h.


Thesis:


A creative thesis and a written report of the thesis are required.